UOW logo
Excellence - Innovation - Diversity
University of Wollongong
Shoalhaven Campus

AOSC History

June 2004

Dr Alison Wicks began lobbying the University of Wollongong (UOW), the Shoalhaven community and relevant stakeholders and organisations for support to establish the AOSC at the University's Shoalhaven Campus in Nowra.

September 2004

Dr Wicks recruited the support of a Board of Consultants, consisting of research, education and occupational science experts from around the world.
Click here to view the AOSC Board of Consultants (PDF).

November 2004

AOSC Pty Ltd was formed by some prominent Shoalhaven business persons to support the establishment of the AOSC.

Bill Hilzinger, Terara Sand Pty Ltd, is Chairperson of AOSC Pty Ltd and members include:
Brian Hanley, Manildra
Peter Rose, Eye Care Plus
Robbie Collins, University of Wollongong.
John Penkaitas, JPA Associates

December 2004

UOW Research Services Office agreed to situate AOSC within Centre for Health Service Development in the Faculty of Commerce.

Shoalhaven City Council accepted a Mayoral Minute on 21 December, to support the development of the AOSC as an educational and research centre at the Shoalhaven Campus.

January 2005

Dr Wicks was appointed as Research Fellow with the Faculty of Commerce, University of Wollongong

February 2005

AOSC Pty Ltd submitted an application for funding through the Department of Regional Transport and Services' Regional Partnerships Scheme

June 2005

The Department of Transport and Regional Services (DOTARS) announced funding of $60,500 to support the first AOSC project, "Do it now".

December 2005

Tony Messner OAM was appointed as a Board member of AOSC Pty Ltd. He replaces John Penkaitas who will be the AOSC Pty Ltd Honorary Accountant.

back to top